This is (the beginning of) a list of available restaurant items that are both meat and dairy free (or can be made so) in Washington, D.C. This list exclusively features items that I have personally tried and liked.
The 2018 list is still small, but I will continue to update this post, and will make it a main reference page. If you have a suggestion for a local offering I should try, please comment below! I’ll work on a separate page soon for at-home recipes.
- Vegetable Quiche – Le Pain Quotidien
- Falafel sandwich or bowl (without adding dairy or mayo toppings) – Falafel Inc.
- Bibimbap with rice, vegetables, tofu and red sauce – Bibibop
- Eggplant & “Chicken” “Parmesan” – Coppi’s Organic
- Tofu Pho (steamed or fried) with vegetables and vegetarian broth – Pho 14
- Granola without dairy toppings (not too sweet and nut-heavy) – Bluestone Lane
- Avocado or Vegemite toast – Bluestone Lane
- Blueberry Muffin, Cranberry Orange Muffin – Sticky Fingers
- Silly Bonez (chocolate peanut butter cake) – Sticky Fingers
- Banana/Peanut Butter/Espresso Smoothie (oat milk option) – Brothers and Sisters
- Vegan Cheesecake – Busboys and Poets
SHELLFISH ONLY (no other meat, no dairy)
- Shrimp Fajitas with vegetables and guac – Judy’s
Why don’t I describe these items as “Vegan?”
Veganism refers to a choice to abstain from all animal products. In addition to meat and dairy, this may include honey, dye made from insects, beeswax, insect-derived shellac, etc. Some of the items listed here may contain these ingredients, and therefore this list is meat free and dairy free, but not vegan. However, if a restaurant indicates that an item is fully vegan, I will indicate that with a (v).
Why am I doing this if I’m not really Vegan?
On certain days throughout the year, including the entire period of Lent, I attempt to abstain from all meat (including fish), dairy, and on some days oil and wine. I’m making this list for my own personal record and reference, but also with the idea that there are others who may appreciate this information because they are avoiding meat and/or dairy for any reason.
Shellfish is meat!
Yeah so, for some reason this particular religious fasting rule allows shellfish. Don’t ask me why! I’ve separated out the shellfish-containing options above, so rest assured that none of the options in the other categories contain shellfish. This part of the list is truly self-serving, although I suppose some lactose-intolerant non-vegetarians may benefit.